Jose Flores, Composer

About the Composer

Jose Flores is a Senior Music Studies major at The University of Texas at Austin. A native of San Antonio, he is a graduate of G.W Brackenridge High School where he performed with several community ensembles including the San Antonio Youth Wind Ensemble, Heart of Texas Concert Band, and the San Antonio Wind Symphony. Originally an oboist, Flores currently plays the Euphonium and composes, writing chamber works and solo repertoire for low brass instruments.

While studying at The University of Texas, Flores has written over a dozen original compositions performed by The University of Texas Jazz Ensemble, the LeVeL Tuba Quartet, the Butler Brass Quartet, and Professor Charles Villarrubia. Flores was a Semi-Finalist in the Leonard Falcone International Young Artist Euphonium Competition and earned third place at the South Central Regional Tuba and Euphonium Conference's Artist Euphonium Competition. He also received third place at the International Women's Brass Conference's and International Tuba and Euphonium Conference's Chamber Music competitions, as well as third place in the Rich Matteson Jazz Euphonium Competition held at the International Tuba and Euphonium Conference.

Flores's programmatic piece for tuba and euphonium quartet, Three Short Stories, was named as a finalist for the Winston Morris Award in Composition given by the International Tuba and Euphonium Association.

Currently, Jose serves as the President of the Alpha Iota Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha at the University of Texas at Austin.

  • U.S Army Band "Pershing's Own" Euphonium Solo Composition Contest Winner
  • 1st Place Chamber Competition 2018 SCRTEC 

  • 3rd Place Rich Matteson Jazz Euphonium Competition

  • 3rd Place ITEC Chamber Competition 2019

  • 3rd Place IWBC Chamber Competition 2019

  • 3rd Place Artist Solo Euphonium SCRTEC 2018

  • Finalist in Winston Morris Composition Contest

  • Semi-Finalist for the Leonard Falcone Young Artist Euphonium Competition

  • Genesis Drum and Bugle Corps 2014 Bronze Medalist